Forschungseinrichtungen

Center for Artistic Research in Jazz and Popular Music Vienna

Der Fokus des Center for Artistic Research in Jazz and Popular Music Vienna (CAR) liegt auf dem Erkenntnisgewinn in und durch die künstlerische Praxis. Dabei wird die Vielfalt der Erscheinungsformen populärer Musik in den Blick genommen und aus der Perspektive all jener erforscht, die an den unterschiedlichen kreativen Schaffensprozessen beteiligt sind. Ziel ist die Entwicklung wissenschaftstheoretischer Perspektiven auf Basis eines interdisziplinären und partizipativen Forschungsansatzes.

Das CAR versteht sich als Ergänzung zu bestehenden Einrichtungen, wie etwa dem Orpheus Research Center in Music (ORCiM) in Ghent/Belgien und erweitert dessen Ausrichtung als internationales Exzellenzzentrum für die künstlerische Musikforschung um den – am ORCiM wenig repräsentierten, jedoch für die Gegenwartskultur umso relevanteren – Bereich des Jazz und der populären Musik.

Das CAR orientiert sich an der künstlerischen Grundlagenforschung basiert auf einem wachsenden internationalen Netzwerk von künstlerisch Forschenden (https://artisticjazzresearch.com/). Hochqualitative Forschung wird von exzellenten heimischen künstlerisch Forschenden und internationalen Projektpartnerinnen und -partnern und in Kooperation mit weiteren renommierten Musikuniversitäten in Österreich durchgeführt. Das Team setzt sich aus Expertinnen und Experten auf Senior, Doctoral und Master Level zusammen und zeichnet sich durch Kooperationen mit Vertreterinnen und Vertretern international führender Partnerinstitutionen und Netzwerke in den Bereichen Artistic Research, Jazz- und Popularmusikforschung sowie Musikwissenschaft aus.

Die Verknüpfung von künstlerischer Forschung mit Musikpädagogik ist von besonderer Bedeutung für das CAR und findet auf allen Ebenen der Musikausbildung statt, einschließlich der Musikschule, dem Konservatorium sowie dem tertiären Sektor an der JMLU. Sämtliche Aktivitäten des CAR orientieren sich an den Grundsätzen des österreichischen Universitätsgesetzes hinsichtlich der Verbindung von Wissenschaft, Kunst und Lehre.

Ein Katalog an Outreach-Maßnahmen dient zur Vermittlung von Forschungsergebnissen; dazu gehören Veröffentlichungen mittels eigener Verlagstätigkeit der JMLU im Print-, Tonträger- und Onlinebereich, Veranstaltung von Projekten zum Wissenstransfer wie Symposien, Workshops und Wettbewerben sowie das Artist-In-Residence Programm der JMLU. Zugleich dient die bestehende Anbindung an eine große Gruppe von Stakeholdern der aktuellen Szenen populärer Musik (Musikschaffende, Produzenten, Veranstalter, Medien und Publikum) zur Entwicklung eines inklusiven Ansatzes in der künstlerischen Forschung, wobei u.a. innovative Konzepte der offenen wissenschaftlichen Arbeit (Citizen Science) zur Anwendung kommen.

Das CAR nahm seine Arbeit offiziell mit der Kick off Veranstaltung am 15. Juni 2022 im Spielraum des Gasometers Wien auf. Die derzeitige örtliche Anbindung an die JMLU ist ideal, um das Musikland Österreich als prototypischen Entwicklungsraum für gegenwärtige Musikkulturen zu beschreiben. Es bestehen zahlreiche Kooperationen mit Stakeholdern der Kulturszene wie dem RSO Wien, Radio Superfly, Ö1, dem Jazzfest Wien und international renommierten Partnerinnen und -partner wie Jeff Levenson (Thelonious Monk Institut), Larry Applebaum und Bill Dobbins (Rutgers Universität) sowie John Edward Hasse (Smithsonian).

Institutsleitung: Mag. Marcus Ratka
Wissenschaftliche Leitung: Dr. Michael Kahr

Gefördert von:

    Logo der Stadt Wien


Institut für Musikmedizin

Die JAM MUSIC LAB Privatuniversität für Jazz und Popularmusik Wien gründete im Mai 2022 in Österreich das erste Forschungsinstitut für Musikmedizin mit dem Schwerpunkt „Arts for Health“.

Forschungsziele sind, wie Musik zur Prävention von bzw. Unterstützung bei Problemen wie Demenz und Long Covid eingesetzt werden kann, wobei professionelle Musiker:innen direkt und unmittelbar mit den Betroffenen musizieren.

Klaus-Felix Laczika, international renommierter Forscher im Bereich der Musikmedizin und Intensivmediziner sowie Oliver Peter Graber, Musiker und Musikwirkungsforscher mit dem Schwerpunkt Musik und Gehirn, leiten das neu gegründete Institut.

Musikmedizin versteht Musik sprichwörtlich als „Medizin“ – „Arts for Health“ setzt den Fokus bei der Prävention und dem direkten Kontakt von Künstler:innen und Betroffenen wie beispielsweise dem gemeinsamen Musizieren von Betroffenen und Musiker:innen.

Ein besonderer Forschungs- und Ausbildungsschwerpunkt ist dabei erstmalig das kreative Schaffen für und mit betroffenen Personen.

Mit dem noch jungen Themenbereich „Arts for Health“ sollen auch neue Berufsperspektiven für Musiker:innen und Künstler:innen eröffnet werden: In einem Interdisziplinären Lehrgang „Arts for Health" (2 Semester, Gesamtkosten EUR 2990) für Musiker:innen, Ärzt:innen und therapeutisches Personal, Pflegepersonal sowie künstlerisch interessierte Personen werden das kreative gemeinsame Musizieren mit Betroffenen und die Entwicklung speziell dafür erforderlicher Musikprogramme und Übungen je Krankheitsbild vermittelt und damit lohnenswerte Arbeitsfelder für die Zukunft erschlossen. 

Gerne informieren wir Sie ausführlich zum Lehrgang Arts for Health. Bitte nehmen Sie Kontakt auf unter artsforhealth[at]jammusiclab.com.

Bechstein Stiftung

 

 

 

ÖGGK

Research Departments

Center for Artistic Research in Jazz and Popular Music Vienna

The focus of the Center for Artistic Research in Jazz and Popular Music Vienna (CAR) is on gaining knowledge in and through artistic practice. The diversity within popular music is taken into account and studied from the perspective of all those who are involved in the various creative processes. The aim is to develop theoretical perspectives on the basis of an interdisciplinary and participatory research approach.

The CAR sees itself as a complement to existing institutions, such as the Orpheus Research Center in Music (ORCiM) in Ghent/Belgium, and expands its orientation as an international centre of excellence for artistic music research to include the field of jazz and popular music - which is little represented at ORCiM but is all the more relevant for contemporary culture.

CAR is oriented towards basic artistic research based on a growing international network of artistic researchers (https://artisticjazzresearch.com/). High-quality research is carried out by excellent local artistic researchers and international project partners and in cooperation with other renowned music universities in Austria. The team consists of experts at senior, doctoral and master level and is characterized by cooperation with representatives of internationally leading partner institutions and networks in the fields of artistic research, jazz and popular music research and musicology.

The linking of artistic research with music education is of particular importance to the CAR and takes place at all levels of music education, including the music school, the conservatoire as well as the tertiary sector at JMLU. All activities of the CAR are guided by the principles of the Austrian University Act regarding the connection of research, art and teaching.

A catalogue of outreach measures serves to communicate research results; these include publications by means of JMLU's own publishing activities in the print, recording and online sectors, the organization of knowledge transfer projects such as symposia, workshops and competitions, as well as JMLU's Artist-In-Residence Program. At the same time, the existing connection to a large group of stakeholders in the current scenes of popular music (music makers, producers, promoters, media and audience) serves to develop an inclusive approach to artistic research, using, among other things, innovative concepts of open scientific work (Citizen Science).

The CAR officially started its work with the kick off event on June 15, 2022 at the Spielraum of the Gasometer Vienna. The current local connection to the JMLU is ideal for describing the music country Austria as a prototypical development space for contemporary music cultures. There are numerous collaborations with stakeholders in the cultural scene such as the RSO Vienna, Radio Superfly, Ö1, the Jazzfest Wien and internationally renowned partners such as Jeff Levenson (Thelonious Monk Institute), Larry Applebaum and Bill Dobbins (Rutgers University) and John Edward Hasse (Smithsonian).

Head of Institute: Mag. Marcus Ratka 
Scientific Management
Michael Kahr, PhD

sponsored by:

Logo Stadt Wien 

 


Research Institute for Music Medicine

In May 2022, the JAM MUSIC LAB Private University for Jazz and Popular Music Vienna founded the first research institute for music medicine in Austria with a focus on "Arts for Health".

The aim of the research is on how music can be used to prevent medical problems or to support in the case of dementia or long covid for example, by professional musicians performing music directly to the clients or by playing music together with the clients.

The heads of the new institute are Klaus-Felix Laczika and Oliver Peter Graber. Klaus-Felix Laczika is an internationally renowned researcher in the field of music medicine and an intensive care physician. Oliver Peter Graber is a musician and music-theorist with a focus on composition/music & the brain.

Music medicine literally understands music as “medicine”. “Arts for Health” focuses on prevention of illnesses and direct contact between artists and clients. As an example of the activities the artists and clients play music together.

For the first time the focus will be particularly on research and training on creative work with the clients.

The topic "Arts for Health" is still new and it can open up exiting career prospects for musicians and artists. The interdisciplinary course "Arts for Health" (2 semesters, total costs EUR 2990) is targeted for musicians, doctors and therapists, nursing staff and people interested in music as well as art in general. Creative music-making with clients and the development of music programs and exercises specially required for this are taught during the course of two semesters.

As part of the curriculum, the students acquire knowledge of the elementary "interplay" of music and body, basic design principles in the arts such as their targeted application in the context of Arts for Health projects, as well as the aspects of ethics, mindfulness and organization that are particularly important for musicians.

We would be happy to provide you with detailed information about the Arts for Health course. Please contact us at artsforhealth[at]jammusiclab.com.

Bechstein Stiftung

 

 

 

ÖGGK